Urge the State Representatives to support SB35 (formerly SB600)

 

ABOUT SB35 (formerly SB600)

 

The direct election bill was reintroduced in the new General Assembly (the 97th) on January 27, 2011 as Senate Bill 35. The legislation is identical to the old Senate Bill 600, the number assigned in the previous General Assembly.

 

Senate Bill 35 passed the Illinois Senate by unanimous vote on April 8, 2011, and is now pending in the House.

 

Senate Bill 35 would give every Republican the right to directly elect the members of the Illinois Republican Party’s senior governing board (officially called the State Central Committee).

 

Illinois Republicans had this right for over 70 years – but it was taken away by a handful of selfish party bosses two decades ago. The Illinois Democrats kept the right to directly elect their party leaders.

 

Senate Bill 35 not only restores real democracy and accountability to our State Party – it doubles the size of the State Central Committee from 19 to 38. In other words, it doubles the chances for getting some real leaders for a change.

 

Every four years in the Primary, you would be able to cast a vote for a State Central Committeeman and a State Central Committeewoman from your U.S. Congressional District to represent you at the State Party. For the first time in over 20 years, your State Party leaders would be accountable to you – not the bosses. 

 

Do your Republican officials and candidates support SB35 (formerly SB600)?

 

Learn More: MAKING THE CASE FOR SB35 (formerly SB600)

 

 

 

LEGISLATIVE UPDATE: SB35 (formerly SB600) 

 

        96th GENERAL ASSEMBLY (2009-2010)
3/10/2009   SENATE   Senate Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted
3/11/2009   SENATE   Passed out of Elections Committee (as Amended); 005-004-000
4/02/2009   SENATE   FULL VOTE IN SENATE – PASSED; 044-013-001
4/02/2009   HOUSE   Placed on Calendar Order of First Reading
4/02/2009   HOUSE   First Reading
4/02/2009   HOUSE   Referred to Rules Committee
4/20/2009   HOUSE   Assigned to Executive Committee
5/06/2009   HOUSE   Passed out of Executive Committee; 007-004-000
5/06/2009   HOUSE   Placed on Calendar Order of Second Reading
5/31/2009   HOUSE   Final Action Deadline Extended-November 30, 2009
10/15/2009   HOUSE   Second Reading – Short Debate
10/15/2009   HOUSE   Placed on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading – Short Debate
10/15/2009   HOUSE   Tom Cross Calls Immediate Republican Caucus
10/16/2009   HOUSE   SB600 Called for Debate, Republicans Call for Another Caucus
10/16/2009   HOUSE   Tom Cross, David Reis and Ron Stephens Speak on House Floor AGAINST Giving Republicans a Voice in Their Own Party
10/16/2009   HOUSE   Consideration Postponed
         
        97th GENERAL ASSEMBLY (2011-2012)
1/27/2011   SENATE   Reintroduced as Senate Bill 35
2/22/2011   SENATE   Kirk Dillard added as Co-Sponsor
3/10/2011    SENATE   Passed out of Executive Committee; 009-005-00
3/10/2011   SENATE   Placed on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 14, 2011
3/15/2011   SENATE   Second Reading
3/15/2011   SENATE   Placed on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 16, 2011
3/31/2011   SENATE   Thomas Johnson, Ronald Sandack, Shane Cultra and Pamela Althoff added as Chief Co-Sponsors
4/8/2011   SENATE   FULL VOTE IN SENATE – PASSED; 52-00-00*
4/8/2011   HOUSE   Placed on Calendar Order of First Reading 
4/8/2011   HOUSE   First Reading
4/8/2011   HOUSE   Referred to Rules Committee
4/12/2011   HOUSE   Referred to Executive Committee
5/13/2011   HOUSE   Committee Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b) May 20, 2011
5/19/2011   HOUSE   Added Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
5/20/2011   HOUSE   Final Action Deadline Extended-9(b) May 27, 2011
5/24/2011   HOUSE   Added Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Barickman
5/24/2011   HOUSE   Added Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael G. Connelly
5/27/2011   HOUSE   Final Action Deadline Extended-9(b) May 31, 2011
5/29/2011   HOUSE   House Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
5/29/2011   HOUSE   House Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
5/29/2011   HOUSE   House Committee Amendment No. 1 In line by 3PM. Timely filed in accordance with House Rule 18(e)
5/29/2011   HOUSE   House Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Executive Committee
5/31/2011   HOUSE   Added Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
5/31/2011   HOUSE   Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
5/31/2011   HOUSE   House Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
         

* State Senators Kirk Dillard and Darin LaHood were off the Senate floor when the vote on SB35 was taken. Almost immediately after the vote, Dillard and LaHood arrived back on the Senate floor and asked that the record reflect a “yes” vote on SB35.

 

 

  

ACTION ALERT: Call or email the State Representatives and urge them to vote YES on Senate Bill 35.

 

We hope you can take a few minutes to call and urge the State Representatives to vote YES on Senate Bill 35 (formerly SB600).

 

Below you’ll find the Springfield office numbers for all the State Representatives. Also, if you click on a Representative’s name, you’ll find the District Office phone number.

 

We also encourage you to urge the Republican State Representatives to sign-on as co-sponsors of SB35.

 

Phone calls are the single most effective tool, but if you are pressed for time or prefer to email, we’ve included email address blocks for all State Representatives. 

 

For more information about SB35 (formerly SB600), go here. 

 

Republican State Representatives

Jason Barickman – (217) 558-1039

Mark Beaubien – (217) 782-1517

Patricia Bellock – (217) 782-1448

Mike Bost – (217) 782-0387

Dan Brady – (217) 782-1118

Rich Brauer – (217) 782-0053

Adam Brown – (217) 782-8398

John Cavaletto – (217) 782-0066

Franco Coladipietro – (217) 782-8158

Sandy Cole – (217) 782-7320

Michael Connelly – (217) 782-8028

Tom Cross – (217) 782-1331

Jim Durkin – (217) 782-0494

Roger Eddy – (217) 558-1040

Mike Fortner – (217) 782-1653

Norine Hammond - (217) 782-0416

David Harris – (217) 782-3739

Kay Hatcher – (217) 782-1486

Chad Hays – (217) 477-0104

Dwight Kay – (217) 782-8018

Renée Kosel – (217) 782-0424

David Leitch – (217) 782-8108

Sidney Mathias – (217) 782-1664

Michael McAuliffe – (217) 782-8182

Bill Mitchell – (217) 782-8163

Jerry Mitchell – (217) 782-0535

Donald Moffitt – (217) 782-8032

Thomas Morrison – (217) 782-8026

Richard Morthland – (217) 782-3992

Rosemary Mulligan – (217) 782-8007

Chris Nybo – (217) 782-6578

JoAnn Osmond – (217) 782-8151

Sandra Pihos – (217) 782-8037

Raymond Poe – (217) 782-0044

Bob Pritchard – (217) 782-0425

Harry Ramey – (217) 558-1037

Dennis Reboletti – (217) 782-4014

David Reis – (217) 782-2087

Chapin Rose – (217) 558-1006

Wayne Rosenthal – (217) 782-8071

Pam Roth – (217) 782-5997

Jim Sacia – (217) 782-8186

Skip Saviano – (217) 782-3374

Tim Schmitz – (217) 782-5457

Darlene Senger – (217) 782-6507

Keith Sommer – (217) 782-0221

Joe Sosnowski – (217) 782-0548

Ron Stephens – (217) 782-6401

Ed Sullivan, Jr. – (217) 782-3696

Jil Tracy – (217) 782-8096

Michael Tryon – (217) 782-0432

Michael Unes – (217) 782-8152

Jim Watson – (217) 782-1840

Dave Winters – (217) 782-0455

 

jason@jasonbarickman.org, strepmbeaubien@sbcglobal.net, rep@pbellock.com, rep.bost@hotmail.com, dan@rep-danbrady.com, brauerr@housegopmail.state.il.us, abrown@decaturil.gov, john@johncavaletto.com, franco@il45.com, representativesandycole@comcast.net, repconnelly48@gmail.com, tom@tomcross.com, repdurkin@hotmail.com, reddyunit1@aol.com, mike.fortner@sbcglobal.net, rephammond@macomb.com, repharris@yahoo.com, info@kayhatcher.us, repchadhays@att.net, dwightkay112@gmail.com, rkosel@ilga.gov, davidleitch@ameritech.net, repmathias@hotmail.com, mmcauliffe20@yahoo.com, repmitchell@earthlink.net, repjmitchell@comcast.net, moffitt@grics.net, repmorthland@gmail.com, Repmorrison54@gmail.com, repmulligan@usa.net, chris@chrisnybo.com, reposmond@aol.com, community@sandrapihos.com, sandrapihos42@gmail.com, poer@housegopmail.state.il.us, bob@pritchardstaterep.com, staterepramey55@aol.com, info@reboletti.com, dennisreboletti@sbcglobal.net, david@davidreis.org, cr@chapinrose.net, wayne@waynerosenthal.com, pamrothd75@gmail.com, friendsofpamroth@gmail.com, jimsacia@aeroinc.net, skip@skipsaviano.com, info@timschmitz.org, sengerstaterep@gmail.com, repsosnowski@gmail.com, sommer@mtco.comron@repstephens.com, ilhouse51@sbcglobal.net, jiltracy@jiltracy.com, mike@miketryon.com, repunes@gmail.com, jimwatson@localnetco.com, repwinters@aol.com

 

Democratic State Representatives

Edward Acevedo – (217) 782-2855

Luis Arroyo – (217) 782-0480

Daniel Beiser – (217) 782-5996

Maria Berrios – (217) 558-1032

Daniel Biss – (217) 782-4194

John Bradley – (217) 782-1051

Daniel Burke – (217) 782-1117

Kelly Burke – (217) 782-0515

William Burns – (217) 782-2023

Kelly Cassidy* – (217)

Linda Chapa LaVia – (217) 558-1002

Marlow Colvin – (217) 782-8272

Fred Crespo – (217) 782-0347

William Cunningham – (217) 782-8200

Barbara Flynn Currie – (217) 782-8121

John D’Amico – (217) 782-8198

Monique Davis – (217) 782-0010

William Davis – (217) 782-8197

Anthony DeLuca – (217) 782-1719

Lisa Dugan – (217) 782-5981

Kenneth Dunkin – (217) 782-4535

Keith Farnham – (217) 782-8020

Sara Feigenholtz – (217) 782-8062

Mary Flowers – (217) 782-4207

LaShawn Ford – (217) 782-5962

Jack Franks – (217) 782-1717

Robyn Gabel - (217) 782-8052

Esther Golar – (217) 782-5971

Jehan Gordon – (217) 782-3186

Greg Harris – (217) 782-3835

Elizabeth Hernandez – (217) 782-8173

Thomas Holbrook – (217) 782-0104

Constance A. Howard – (217) 782-6476

Eddie Lee Jackson – (217) 782-5951

Naomi Jakobsson – (217) 558-1009

Charles Jefferson – (217) 782-3167

Thaddeus Jones – (217) 782-8087

Lou Lang – (217) 782-1252

Camille Y Lilly - (217) 782-6400

Joseph Lyons – (217) 782-8400

Michael Madigan – (217) 782-5350

Frank Mautino – (217) 782-0140

Karen May – (217) 782-0902

Rita Mayfield - (217) 558-1012

Emily McAsey – (217) 782-4179

Kevin McCarthy – (217) 782-3316

Jack McGuire – (217) 782-8090

Deborah Mell – (217) 782-8117

Susana Mendoza – (217) 782-7752

Michelle Mussman – (217) 782-3725

Elaine Nekritz – (217) 558-1004

Harry Osterman* – (217) 782-8088

Brandon Phelps – (217) 782-5131

Dan Reitz – (217) 782-1018

Al Riley – (217) 558-1007

Robert Rita – (217) 558-1000

Carol A. Sente - (217) 782-0499

Derrick Smith – (217) 782-8077

Cynthia Soto – (217) 782-0150

André Thapedi – (217) 782-1702

Arthur Turner - (217) 782-8116

Patrick Verschoore – (217) 782-5970

Ann Williams – (217) 782-2458

Karen Yarbrough – (217) 782-8120

Michael Zalewski – (217) 782-5280

 

acevedoed@ilga.gov, repdistrict3@gmail.com, dvbeiser@sbcglobal.net, berriosma@ilga.gov, RepBiss@gmail.com, repjohnbradley@mychoice.netdburkedj@legis.state.il.uskellyb@ilga.gov, repwillburns@att.net, chapa-laviali@ilga.gov, repcolvin@sbcglobal.net, fred@fredcrespo.com, staterepbillcunningham@gmail.com, repcurrie@sbcglobal.net, john_damico@sbcglobal.net, davismd@ilga.gov, williamd@ilga.gov, repdeluca@sbcglobal.net, duganlm@ilga.gov, dunkinke@ilga.gov, krfarnham@comcast.net, sara@staterepsara.com, flowersme@ilga.gov, lkf@ilga.gov, jack@jackfranks.org, estherg@ilga.gov, repjehangordon@gmail.comcreiddist@frontiernet.net, greg@gregharris.org, lisa@staterephernandez.com, holbrookta@ilga.gov, staterep-constance-a-howard@comcast.net, repjones.jones@gmail.com, staterepchuck67@aol.com, naomi@naomijakobsson.comreploulang@aol.com, statereplilly@yahoo.com, lyonsjm@ilga.gov, mmadigan@hds.ilga.gov, mautinofj@ilga.gov, karen@repkarenmay.org, repemily@gmail.com, kevmac37@sbcglobal.net, jmcguire86@sbcglobal.net, deb@debmell.org, repmendoza@aol.com, staterepmussman@gmail.com, enekritz@repnekritz.org, 14thdistrict@gmail.com, bphelps@yourclearwave.com, repreitz@egyptian.net, rep.riley38@sbcglobal.net, ritaro@ilga.govrepsente@gmail.com, csoto@ilga.gov, rep32district@gmail.com, turneral@ilga.gov, pverschoore@qconline.com, ann@repannwilliams.com, kyarbrough@hds.ilga.gov, repzalewski@gmail.com

 

* Kelly Cassidy will replace Harry Osterman on May 16, 2011.

 

END 

Share

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.